Posted on

strictly medicinal seeds reviews

The Green Pages: Strictly Medicinal Seeds (formerly Horizon Herbs) (E-Commerce Companies)

Strictly Medicinal Seeds (formerly Horizon Herbs) is represented on Garden.org by @RichoCech

Main Details
Website: https://strictlymedicinalseeds.
E-Mail: Contact them
Phone: Fax: 1-541-846-0872
Physical address: PO Box 299
Williams, OR 97544
E-Commerce Companies
Main Product(s): Herbs
Seeds
Cactus and Succulents
Other: Medicinal plants, seeds, roots; seed cleaning screens

Recommended by DavidLMO – Aug 30, 2015 11:01 PM

Eclectic and esoteric. In some cases, they are the only source. When researching some extremely esoteric herbs, I have found that due to common name problems and/or historical anomalies, a couple of items they said were X were not in fact X, but were Y. Overall, however, their information is quite good and they are receptive to corrections. I have been generally pleased with my purchases from them.

Recommended by vitrsna – Jul 31, 2015 9:58 AM

This is a great company! They have an interesting selection of products and seeds that range from common to eclectic, all USDA organic. Some seeds for plants that you may never have heard of, some plants that you may not find elsewhere. They are located in the US state of Oregon, and delivery and service have always been prompt and correct. I have experienced good germination results with perennial seeds they have described as “cranky germinators,” so I have faith that I am receiving fresh products when I order from Horizon Herbs. It is quickly becoming my 1st go-to place when I’m looking for seeds and sometimes when I don’t know what I’m looking for. I recommend Horizon Herbs if you are not familiar with it. Even if you are not shopping for anything specific, it is worthwhile browsing and reading.

Recommended by LindaTX8 – Apr 10, 2013 10:03 AM

I’ve ordered from this company several times and received everything I ordered promptly. They have species I’ve never seen elsewhere. Very satisfied!

Recommended by dave – Jul 20, 2012 3:29 PM

Twice I’ve ordered plants from Horizon Herbs and I was happy both times. They were the only company I could find in the US who offered the ‘Bocking 14’ cultivar of Comfrey.

The Green Pages: Strictly Medicinal Seeds (formerly Horizon Herbs) (E-Commerce Companies) Strictly Medicinal Seeds (formerly Horizon Herbs) is represented on Garden.org by @RichoCech Main

The scoop on ‘Horizon Herbs, LLC’

Company Profile
Horizon Herbs, LLC

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 69
Williams, Oregon 97544 (United States)

Phone: (541) 846-6704
Fax: (541) 846-6233
Paper Catalog Cost: $2

Company Comment, posted on October 19, 2002:
We are certified organic seed growers in Williams, Oregon, with over 700 species of medicinal herbs on our land. We grow things that are hard to find elsewhere–Turkey Rhubarb, Mandrake, White Sage, Virginia Snakeroot, Red Trillium, Eleuthero Ginseng, Echinacea tennesseensis, etc., etc., as well as the majority of “tried and true” medicinals (Valerian, Elecampane, Marshmallow, etc.)

We have a website at horizonherbs.com, our popular seed catalog is available by request, and we have written several in-depth books about growing and using medicinal herbs. We are gardeners, artists and scientists, focusing strongly on identity and quality of our seeds.

Comments:

More recently (19 February, to be precise) I placed an order and have yet to receive it (mailman just came by, but with nothing from Horizon) as of today, 2 March. This is longer than I usually have to wait for shipments from seed suppliers (including Horizon). An email inquiry regarding the missing (?) shipment has gone unanswered. And yes: that email was just a day ago. should I have waited longer? Maybe. Should a business not leave its customers wondering where their stuff is? Definitely.

Sorry, I really want to like Horizon Herbs, but things are just a little spotty my last couple of orders. I just don’t know what I’m going to get or even IF I’ll get what I ordered. On May 1st, 2018, scbentz changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

So much of my review can and should be disregarded as either unrealistic expectations or just stupid petulance. I cringe to read that review now, it’s clear *someone* was having a bad day back then. I wish to recant my b!tchy comments from several years ago. As I look back at them, I think they were just plainly unfair. I stand by and herewith wish to reiterate the other parts of the review- those having to do with Richo’s dedication to customer service.
In the 6 years since I left the review, I have indeed ordered from Horizon again (at least once every year since then, in fact). Not once since then have I had any issue whatever with an order. Particularly worthy of note is something that happened this year. I ordered some seed that had a low germination rate– could be my fault, could be the seeds just weren’t viable, who knows. But I reported this to Richo and he totally surprised me by sending me some rooted cuttings of the plant I was trying to grow from seed. Such a kind and gracious gesture!
Company representative comment on March 2, 2013:
On Mar 2, 2013 12:04 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Yes, I’m sorry too. I do remember sending the replacement jiao gu lan seeds and also kissing the packet to give it good luck on its journey. Jiao gu lan is quite delicate!

As for shipping prices, we assess each shipment and if for some reason the amount of money that was given for shipping is insufficient we may contact the customer for more funds. We can’t do business if shipping dollars don’t stretch.

As for slowness in delivery, the time period from when the new catalog comes out (mid Feb) and on into spring is going to mean slower delivery than at other times of year. Please count on that and order early! We are working day and night to send out orders and we are a family not a machine. By the way, there’s no reason to wonder about the delivery–everyone who gives us their e-mail address when ordering gets an e-mail when we ship that gives full tracking info.

Again, I’m sorry for the evident frustration and I do hope this person has a great gardening year.

First, I included a note when I placed my delivery and it was immediately answered. In less than 24hrs I received a reply. The customer service I experienced was above par. There were several times I emailed a question about something and received an immediate reply.

In addition, I received my order very promptly and in pristine condition. I think if people actually read the policies and made sure they were clear about them (as I did) prior to ordering, there wouldn’t be any of the issues I’m seeing with some of these reviews.

Finally, the quality of the items definitely met and exceeded my expectations. I was nervous about receiving live plants via shipping, but it turns out that was such a non-issue. The plants not only looked great upon receipt, but they are thriving very well.

I am also impressed with their prices. I think they’re very competitive. I recall seeing live plants and shrubs on the list that were lower in cost than my local farmer’s market (and they have excellent prices).

The bottom line is from the beginning to the end I felt like I was a valued customer, that my questions were taken seriously, and regardless if I spent $10 or $100 I would be treated the same.
As long they have what I’m looking for I will continue to order from this company. I’m glad I took my friend’s advice.

15 years now. Often I turn friends to Horizon, and group larger orders together with them. Always appreciative of prompt phone and email correspondences. If nothing else, the catalog reads like a textbook, and I pass them on as such to newer gardener friends. Horizon, from my distant perspective, operates as a model family farm business, which I adore. There are very few seed suppliers with their level of integrity across-the-board. I do know this well, being an organic family gardener, commercial farmer, and rare-plant collector.

I recieved my most recent order from them a few days ago. Nothing to bxtch about as usual. Timely, well-packed, and germination already, on-par with their own germ rates posted in the catalog.

I ordered 3 witch hazel trees in honor of a family member that passed away from Horizon Herbs. I got them and they were like little sticks, I followed the instructions and replanted them and waited for the Spring /Summer hoping the leaves would grow in and they would thrive, especially in the absence of our loved one. Come Spring, then Summer and the plants didn’t change AT ALL, eventually I realized they had died. all three.
I’m a green thumb, I am the person people bring their dying plants to, to bring back to life. I don’t kill plants, never have.
I contacted Horizon Herbs with my story and they were COLD. They said that it was my fault and that they shipped me a living plant that I killed and they would not replace it.
Most places will replace your trees if they don’t live for a year. This was crazy. I was so willing to work with them and told them that it was leaving SUCH a bad taste in my mouth.
I will go out of my way to never support them again. I can’t believe how cold and uncaring they are. I offered to pay shipping on new cuttings, but they said no. I’m not a story teller, I just wanted to honor a lost loved one.
Fortunately, I live in an area where witch hazel grows wild and a friend had a plant that I took my own cuttings from and rooted them and they are fine and growing.
This situation didn’t have to go this way though.
Learn to apologize and stop blaming your customers when things go wrong. Company representative comment on January 16, 2016:
On Jan 16, 2016 12:47 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Only 4 short days after planting the comfrey roots (bocking 14 variety) 4 of the 7 already have green growth about an inch above the dirt. Very pleased with the quality of the roots received and will definitely purchase from Horizon Herbs again! Company representative comment on September 22, 2015:
On Sep 22, 2015 7:46 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

I had ordered some varieties of herb seeds, some of the packets ended up short of the stated count of seeds. Considering the high cost of the seeds, and some already having a low stated count, coupled with the quite high shipping rates for tiny seeds, I was a little put off.
I contacted them — asking how we can rectify it — almost two weeks with no response, other than an auto-generated response that they have received my customer service message:

“Submitted: 7/31/2015 3:07:00 PM
.
We value your questions/comments and will be responding shortly.
–Horizon Herbs, LLC //www.horizonherbs.com/”

but I never heard anything further than this.

At least I received my package quickly, unlike many of the bad reviews here state having had to wait weeks or more for it to even ship.
Company representative comment on August 12, 2015:
On Aug 12, 2015 1:47 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Typical bait and switch. The cuttings were pathetic pieces of roots and had been in the plastic shipping bag for some time and had sprouted – with the shoots winding all over the place. The “crown” was nowhere to be seen. It was difficult to decide which end was up.

I Emailed them but received no response. They probably (correctly) figured that I’d never come back to them so why bother.

The nice thing about comfrey is that it’s so weedy that it’ll come up no matter which way you plant it. But, I could have done just as well going on Ebay and buying the same junk for much less money.

Go to yelp to see all the negative reviews. Company representative comment on August 7, 2015:
On Aug 7, 2015 10:18 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

I first ordered dried herbs (which were wonderfully, carefully packed and very fresh), then some seeds which contained very good package information like where and when to plant them for best germination and finally I got plants. They were in the best soil I’ve ever received from any company (and I’ve bought thousands of plants, really!).

The owner seems to spend a lot of time on here rebuking and giving condescending “fauxpologies” to customers who have the nerve to express dismay that their orders took three weeks to process.

If that level of energy and concern were actually channelled into addressing the issue instead of defending it as company policy (and decrying all those who disagree as “poor misguided negative souls who just don’t ‘get’ the

of gardening”, or whatever) maybe those complaints wouldn’t end up getting posted here at all.

After I parted ways from this company, a friend who stocks his farm through Rolling River Nursery advised me to try them instead. We’ll see if their order is still malingering in “pending” status ten days after they charge my card. On May 9th, 2015, Nimini added the following:

1.) No, a refund has not been issued. Your charge is still on the card.

2.) It was the bad Yelp reviews AND here.

3.) The assumption that any customer who doesn’t specify “pretty pleeeease fill this order ASAP” should just assume that their goods will mosey through the mail and Get There Whenever, is a jaw-droppingly awful attitude towards customer service.

4.) Once again: if the complulsive hovering on this site to rebut negative reviews were redirected towards **actually filling orders**, this whole thing would probably be a non-issue.
Company representative comment on May 9, 2015:
On May 9, 2015 7:46 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Well, we work with real goods, not faux goods. However, this lady never got a chance to get her goods (2 hawthorn trees) because she read a negative review on “yelp” and asked for a refund. We gave her the refund, but would have rather given her the trees. If she needed them at a particular time, all she had to do was ask. On May 9, 2015 11:07 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

I appreciate the quick feedback and definitely want to be fair. I realize they carry lots of unusual items and have a high demand for their products. Plus it sounds like there was a mistaken application of the rules. I have already received my refund and do not wish to renew the order. Company representative comment on March 14, 2015:
On Mar 13, 2015 8:10 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

This review is clearly written and useful. I have contacted customer service to repeat once again our policy, which apparently was not followed. New orders with requests for immediate shipment garner a $10.00 rush charge. If a customer calls for order status and the item has not yet shipped, it is our policy to provide fast turnaround gratis. I have d-mailed joylucile to get in touch with me (richo) personally so I can be sure her items are shipped without further delay. I have requested that she change this negative rating and expect that she will. Isn’t there enough negativity in life and in the world without us gardeners shooting negativity at eachother? On another note, I had the pleasure of actually talking to DAVE who started this garden watchdog website. Turns out he is no longer involves with this website, hasn’t been for a decade, and is sorry he ever unleashed this watchdog in the garden. I’m sorry, too. Richo On Mar 14, 2015 10:09 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

Before writing the history of communications with Horizon Herbs, it might be good idea to note it is July now, spring, the busy season, is already over.

Before making orders, I wrote a mail asking about history of trade to Taiwan to know about any potential risks it might involve. I got a response from Horizon Herbs in 2-3 days.

So I ordered some seeds on 6/30 to be shipped to Taiwan.
And I got a message saying “Thank you for your order” when completed the order online. In the ordering info, it says “pending” in the status column.

The next day the payment status become “completed” from “pending”. But I did not received any message from Horizon Herbs, so I do not know what did it mean. The Carrier and Tracking ID columns are still in blank.

In my understanding, Horizon Herbs is not aware of current status of transactions since each contracted gardener ships products and Horizon Herbs functions mere a “transaction center” to connect customers and gardeners, but this understanding might be wrong.

Anyway, I am not sure if the seeds have already been shipped or not.

Today, 2 days after the initial order, I sent a mail asking if the shipment is via Air Mail or via Sea Mail. I believe this kind of trading normally use Air Mail, but I could not find any explanation about it in Horizon Herbs web site, and also, I was informed in the first mail from Horizon Herbs that the shipment might be take up to 6 weeks to be received, so I became a little bit worried about how they were going to send me the seeds.

I hope everything goes well. (keep updating later)

On July 5th, 2014, elmundodelcacti added the following:

Hi Horizon Herbs, thank you for your explanation. Everything is clear now.

Since the last mail asking for shipping method, in the very next day, I got a response from Horizon Herbs, saying “We only ship international orders via AIR mail. You will receive an email confirmation with tracking number when it leaves.
“.

The same day, or 5 business days from the initial order, I got a link to tracking information of USPostalService “stamps.com”. I believe this 5 working days processing period is quite reasonable for an order to be processed, even this perception would be different per purchaser.

Once we get a link to tracking info (Scan History), detailed tracking information for each scanning point of package shipping slip becomes available.

Oh I forgot to mention that Horizon Herbs chose to ship my seeds via “First Class International (R)” of USPS. Per USPS.com, “First-Class Mail International® is our most affordable international service for letters, postcards, and large envelopes”. Wow, Horizon Herbs chose the best air mail service available for my seeds!

When I received this Scan History, initially it only said “Shipped via: USPS Reserved” and the “scan history” in blank. That means Horizon Herbs has given the USPS the shipping info, and seeds are yet to be received by USPS.

4 hours after the “Reserved” status notification, “ORIGIN ACCEPTANCE” status was added to the scan history. OK, now I know seeds have been handed over to the USPS.

There is one important issue better to know. The Carrier and Tracking# columns in the Horizon Herbs’ ordering info (purchase receipt) page remains in blank even after the seeds have handed over the USPS 2 days ago. So if you want to track the shipment of your seeds, then it is recommended to check the USPS link rather than Horizon Herbs’ ordering info.
(keep updating) On July 9th, 2014, elmundodelcacti added the following:

I received seeds from Horizon Herbs today, July 9, 2014. Scan history was as follows. So this time, looks like custom clearances went well. I cannot tell how happy I was when I received those seeds. Thank you Horizon Herbs!

Scan History
Date Time Location Status
July 5, 2014 23:36:00 LOS ANGELES, CA 90009 DEPART USPS SORT FACILITY
July 5, 2014 17:04:00 LOS ANGELES, CA 90009 PROCESSED THROUGH USPS SORT FACILITY
July 3, 2014 21:56:00 MEDFORD, OR 97501 DEPART USPS SORT FACILITY
July 3, 2014 21:12:00 MEDFORD, OR 97501 PROCESSED THROUGH USPS SORT FACILITY
July 3, 2014 19:57:00 WILLIAMS, OR 97544 ORIGIN ACCEPTANCE
July 3, 2014 16:02:00 97544 Electronic Notification

Summary of transaction is below.

Inquiry – response: 2-3 working days
Initial order made – shipping: 3 working days (I wrote 5 days in the previous post but it was wrong)
MEDFORD to Los Angeles: 2 working days
Los Angeles to Taiwan: 4 days

Now I had a big problem. Some seeds were MUCH less in number than they should be. I ordered 4 class of seeds with 8 seeds packs.

I ordered:
“50 seeds Lot #8073” X 2 packs.

I received:
a packet with 27 seeds (46% less seeds)
and
a packet with 49 seeds.

I ordered:
“50 seeds Lot #7449” X 2 packs.

I received:
a packet with 40 seeds (20% less seeds)
and
a packet with 45 seeds.

I ordered:
“30 seeds Lot #8074” X 3 packs.

I received:
a packet with 33 seeds
and
a packet with 33 seeds
and
a packet with 34 seeds.

I ordered:
“30 seeds Lot #7995” X 3 packs.

I received:
a packet with 30 seeds
and
a packet with 23 seeds (23% less seeds)
and
a packet with 34 seeds.

Note: I counted then on a bright orange plate with diameter of 30 cm and took picture of them.

I must write to Horizon Herbs for compensation, at least for the 46% less seeds, and hopefully those seeds with more than 20% less in number. I think plus/minus 15% is reasonable, but 46% less is never acceptable.

I guess they count seeds by weight, but weight count method cannot explain this 46% of shortage in number of seeds.

Now the least desired way of compensation is a issuance of Horizon Herbs’ coupon. The best way is Horizon Herbs sends me the rest of seeds I already paid for, but I doubt Horizon Herbs re-sends me them.

Ok, I will write to Horizon Herbs tomorrow and keep updating.

On July 11th, 2014, elmundodelcacti added the following:

I got a response from Horizon Herbs responding to my inquiry about shortage of seeds in quantity in some seed packs, and it said ” In any case we are re-sending your order. Richo” and today I got a “Shipment Details” (link to scan history) via E-mail for the re-sending of seeds. So Horizon Herbs re-sent me the rest of my seeds. I never expected this happened since it could cost a lot of additional costs to Horizon Herbs.

Thank you very much Horizon Herbs, now I am totally happy with everything you offered me.

Finally, I must mention that the seed protective materials Horizon Herbs used for the shipment were of more than enough, with double layered shock absorber and water proof sealing for each seed pack, meaning the seeds were well protected. And now I noticed the shipping cost is really reasonable with this kind of expensive protective materials used. But it is important to note seeds in a most protective envelop can be damaged if a person stepped on it and that can happen anytime during shipment.

My seeds were in perfect conditions per see when arrived, there were no broken pieces, tips nor fragments in the seed packs. Also there were no trace of seed packs opened during the shipment. Everything was in perfect conditions.

Ok, let me summarize my experience with Horizon Herbs:

Horizon Herbs offers you:
– Best price for seeds
– Reliability on shipping (fast shipping method + well protected package)
– Fast and quality customer attendance
– Responsibility to claims
– ABSOLUTELY POSITIVE overall experiences

I will definitely make orders again. On July 21st, 2014, elmundodelcacti added the following:

Yesterday, July 22, I received the one time free replacement of seeds. This time seeds took a route via New York and so it took 5 more days than via Los Angeles. Notice that the tracking record never shows “departure” from Jamaica, NY, unlike the case via Los Angeles.

Scan History
Date Time Location Status
July 13, 2014 08:25:00 JAMAICA, NY 11430 PROCESSED THROUGH USPS SORT FACILITY
July 11, 2014 21:51:00 MEDFORD, OR 97501 DEPART USPS SORT FACILITY
July 11, 2014 21:18:00 MEDFORD, OR 97501 PROCESSED THROUGH USPS SORT FACILITY
July 11, 2014 20:03:00 WILLIAMS, OR 97544 ORIGIN ACCEPTANCE
July 11, 2014 16:31:00 97544 Electronic Notification
July 11, 2014 14:47:00 WILLIAMS, OR 97544 ACCEPT OR PICKUP

The seeds are germinating with good rate and I am really happy now. Company representative comment on July 10, 2014:
On Jul 3, 2014 7:41 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Hi There,
The above letter is very interesting and the suppositions are well meaning. To set it straight:
1) We ship all international orders via AIR MAIL.
2) We are not a “transaction center.” We have 2 sides to our business: Customer Service (answers phone, invoices, downloads orders, charges cards, etc.) Farm (grows and cleans seeds, plants plants, ships seeds, ships plants, etc.)
3) “Completed” means your order was successfully paid for and downloaded and we are working on getting you your stuff. As long as you gave us your e-mail when you ordered, you actually received an automatic e-mail from us that said your order was successfully paid for and downloaded and we are working on getting you your stuff. Additionally, you will receive an e-mail with tracking when your seeds actually ship.
4) International orders may take 6 weeks to receive because they have to be approved by CUSTOMS. We have no control over customs delays. Sometimes seeds are rejected at customs and the customer never gets their goods. Sometimes we receive the package back weeks later and start the process of communicating with the customer, sometimes the seeds are simply discarded at customs (Italy and Greece are the worst for this, also Taiwan, China, South Africa and Brazil are very chancy). Most seed companies in the US will not send seeds internationally because, considering losses incurred through customs issues, it is not a profitable venture. However, we keep trying, because we would like gardeners to get what they need regardless of where they are.
If you would like personal assistance with any issues you have, it would make sense to drop me an e-mail at: herbseed (at) horizonherbs.com
I would prefer this over your public posting of comments on this “Dave’s” venue.
I do a lot of free consultation (limit 3 e-mails) with gardeners every day, and I help people understand the process of ordering and receiving live botanicals. Thank you for choosing “positive,” it makes a difference!
On Jul 10, 2014 12:22 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

I ordered some amaranth seeds of the giant South American variety a month or two ago. I got them within 4 weeks. It’s been five weeks since I planted a couple and followed the directions on the package. I dont know what they look like, heres what I have so far
//i104.photobucket.com/albums/m185/bunny666_2006/image-2.jpg On August 15th, 2013, hypocondro changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

Its been 3 months since i planted 6 giant amaranth seeds i ordered from horizon herbs, the slow growth rate I’m going to assume responsibility for. The seeds are very tiny.
Heres what i have now:
//i104.photobucket.com/albums/m185/bunny666_2006/Photoon2013-08-15at1354.jpg On August 29th, 2013, hypocondro added the following:

Giant amaranth seedling from seed packet after 4 1/2 months.
(slow growth was from sitting in a window sill the first six weeks)

On September 7th, 2013, hypocondro added the following:

i had a problem with mold that killed off the first five seedlings

but. this one is now big and beautiful. (5&1/2 months) On September 7th, 2013, hypocondro added the following:

i had a problem with mold that killed off the first five seedlings

but. this one is now big and beautiful. (5&1/2 months)

//i104.photobucket.com/albums/m185/bunny666_2006/Photoon2013-09-07at1320.jpg On September 20th, 2013, hypocondro added the following:

Hey i have a question with the Giant Amaranth.
The leaves are suddenly becoming folded and droopy with flecks of yellowaround the edges. Have you seen this problem before, if so what is the cause, how can it be corrected?
//i104.photobucket.com/albums/m185/bunny666_2006/Photoon2013-09-20at1357.jpg
//i104.photobucket.com/albums/m185/bunny666_2006/Photoon2013-09-20at13572.jpg On June 7th, 2014, hypocondro added the following:

I have no complaints with this company at all! They are always on time, precise and even send you a catalog with your purchases. The seeds i’ve ordered from them have all grown great and I plan to keep on ordering from them in the future. When I can’t find what i want every where else, i order from them. Company representative comment on June 19, 2013:
On Jun 19, 2013 7:16 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Everything was received within a respectable timeframe; all seeds appear to have great germination rates.

(In fact, I ordered the same seeds last year, but an unforeseen thing happened, so I had to travel away for months. Back again, of course the seeds were not viable anymore. But to my joy I could see that the seeds once had been very viable, since they had germinated (and unfortunately died) in the packet.)

Less than two days after I placed the order I received an email stating that I had received a refund from Horizon Herbs. The amount was that of the Bloodroot seeds. There was no additional information on the email though. But it got me anxious. So I logged into my account on Horizon Herbs, and checked the order status. It said nothing about the refund there. (Yet.) I then wrote Horizon Herbs an email through their site, where I asked the question whether it was the Bloodroot seeds that they had refunded me for. I expressed like I did above, that the Bloodroot seeds were what made me order in the first place, and I requested that they would explain whether the refund was for these seeds.

I also checked the status of the Bloodroot seeds on their site, and it was still shown as available to buy. (Now, eleven days later it still is available to click and add into the shopping basket.)

I received no answer to my email to them. (Now it is nine days ago since I wrote them the email.)

A couple of days later, I wrote them again, but not only because of the Bloodroot seeds. Since the order didn’t seem to have been executed yet, I wondered whether they could add another type of seed that needs to be fresh to germinate (Galium odoratum – Sweet Woodruff.) In this email – also written through my account on their site – I also mentioned that I had written them another email a couple of days before, and by this hinting that I expected an answer.

I have received no answer to either of the emails – and it’s been more than a week that I wrote the last one.

I checked the order status a couple of more days later, and it still didn’t reveal anything about the Bloodroot seeds.

But today I checked the order status again, and now it clearly states on my order: “refund bloodroot: $-9.95”

I have yet to receive the letter with the seeds to my mail box, but of course it means that the Bloodroot seeds are not shipped to me.

To me this tells this about Horizon Herbs:

Lack of valuing the customer: Horizon Herbs have neglected to understand the importance of delivering what they offer. And IF some item in an order for some unforseen reason is not available, they should give a clear notice to the customer about it before executing orders.

Lack of communication: If they at all read my two emails, they have neglected the importance I put on specifically the Bloodroot seeds.

Lack of flexibility or options to the order: If they happened to have read my emails, they should have given me the opportunity to cancel the order.

All in all this is one of the worst experiences I have had when it comes to ordering seeds.

I notice that a representative for Horizon Herb has read through the feedbacks here, and have offered comments to some of the neutral or negative feedbacks.

I would then simply end this review by a message to the representative for Horizon Herb:

1. Don’t just address customers through this site: Show common courtesy and instead respond directly matters regarding a change of order to their email addresses. ‘Too busy to respond’ isn’t an excuse in business. Write your customers directly if there is some unforeseen discrepancy regarding an order.

2. If your shop is empty for a particular seed, then for goodness sake, don’t let the seed stay available to add to the basket! Tag the seeds as ‘sold out’ as other seed companies do. (As already stated, it is eleven days ago since I ordered the seeds, and the very same seeds are seemingly available to buy.

3. Whenever Horizon Herb has the Sanguinaria canadensis seeds available again for shipping, then if Horizon Herbs ship to me a portion of these seeds (I will pay for the seeds, but not for the postage), I will change this feedback from negative to positive.

Why am I willing to go all from negative to positive? That is because Horizon Herbs (on the positive side) appear to really keep the quality on their seeds high. Other years where I have ordered seeds from them, their packaging of seeds, and the quality has appeared to be high.

Therefore, if Horizon Herbs will stretch themselves to ship the seeds (when available to them) to amend this bad experience of mine, the overall picture is thus different, and I am willing to change the review.

But for now, too bad that this negative experience has turned my impression about this seed company around a 180°. On April 18th, 2014, RedFingers changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

So I started out writing a bad review for Horizon Herbs.

The mentioned seed which without notice I received refund for was meant as a back order. An understandable and excusable human mistake.

I am now promised that the seed will be shipped to me by harvest time around the time of May/June. And as I wrote at the end of the review, if Horizon Herb would make an endeavor to correct things, I would then change the rating to positive.

I still have an impression that Horizon Herbs as a business should improve its response to customer inquiries, but overall I think that Horizon Herbs deserves a positive rating from me.

According my experience with the company, Horizon Herb’s strongest quality is following:

So, if the seeds finally go out next week, that will be nearly *2 weeks* after I placed the order. As for the “we’re just really busy in spring excuse,” most *other* companies do not take this long to ship in spring! Maybe Horizon Herbs needs to hire more people. If I don’t get my seeds by the middle of next week, I will be changing this rating to a negative.

Either way, I don’t think I will be ordering from Horizon Herbs again. On March 31st, 2014, rissole added the following:

Thanks for your comment. Actually, I’ve moved, so I probably need to update my info on here, though I’m not exactly sure how to do that. Anyway, my new location is Hartwell, GA. I’ve also noticed that some folks on here have waited weeks for arrival of their orders even during January, etc. And I checked my e-mail today, and still nothing about the package being shipped. So, it had better ship tomorrow–otherwise, the shipping date won’t meet the “beginning of next week” time frame that the woman on the phone promised me. On April 1st, 2014, rissole changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:

Company representative comment on March 29, 2014:
On Mar 29, 2014 9:42 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Order placing was simple and straight forward. A shipping notification arrived 3 days after ordering for the order placed in November and 10 days after the order placed in December. The shipment of the roots went on a joy ride to Denver (super strange since Denver doesn’t seem on the way from Oregon to Southern California) and took forever to arrive but we got them right into the ground the next day. The orders arrived nicely packed with lots of good vibes.

There were more than twenty comfrey cuttings shipped and so far twenty-two have emerged; the first leaves on some cuttings emerged within 3 days! It’s still too soon for the other bulbs and roots but I expect similar results.

I’ve started some of the seeds. Germination rates are terrific and all the seedlings are vigorous. Nettles, burdock, mullein germinated in less than 7 days. It’s still too cool here for some of the others even here in sunny San Diego.

I feel like Chuck and Lucy’s holding the football. I get duped frequently when I extend trust to others. Horizon’s sweet bio and website was so captivating, though. *sigh* On January 29th, 2014, rocketdog72 added the following:

This is what the confirmation email states (cut & pasted):
Mailing Date: 1/29/2014
Est. Delivery: 1-3 days
Service: Priority Mail (R)
Signature: Not Required

So she told me on the phone arrival could take 5 days.

And, I just checked the time difference, and Oregon is 2 hours behind Alabama, so at 1:09 p.m. (the exact time that I called Horizon) it was 11:09 a.m. in Oregon. She told me my order was being shipped at that very moment. the confirmation email states that my order was shipped at 2:12 p.m.? Is this correct? 2:12 p.m. in Alabama means that it was 12:12 p.m. in Oregon, which is still not 11:09 a.m.
If I don’t receive my order *5 days* will you please give me my money back so that I may use it to go elsewhere to purchase seed?
Thanks.
On February 1st, 2014, rocketdog72 changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

I received my order on 1/31/2014. Thank you. Company representative comment on January 29, 2014:
On Jan 29, 2014 8:13 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Normal flow? It was approved for shipping on the 3rd. Do you normally wait that long to ship? AND I only got half of my order. No email or anything to tell me part of it was backordered. And no expected date to receive the other portion. You can talk all nice on here, but your customer service stinks-because there isn’t any. Company representative comment on January 20, 2014:
On Jan 16, 2014 9:54 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

All of the above seems to be in the normal flow of seed shipping. Orders are received and paid for, paperwork goes from office to shippers, shippers ship orders in the same order as received. When the order ships, the shipping confirmation is sent to the customer. My hope is that Likalee will plant the seeds with love and patience. Richo On Jan 16, 2014 10:06 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

All of the above seems to be in the normal flow of seed shipping. Orders are received and paid for, paperwork goes from office to shippers, shippers ship orders in the same order as received. When the order ships, the shipping confirmation is sent to the customer. Inquiries are respected with the best information we can give, but they do not speed the process. My hope is that Likalee will plant the seeds with love and patience. Richo On Jan 20, 2014 8:04 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

Each time I talked with someone there they were pleasant and seemed willing to be helpful. However, the follow-thru just doesn’t seem to happen at this company. I would not recommend buying from them. On November 29th, 2013, rmoote added the following:

I just got further down into my credit card bill – instead of refunding money on my credit card, they actually charged me again for the entire original order from last June! Now I will have to call them again and try to straighten this out. Not a good company. On November 29th, 2013, rmoote added the following:

I just got further down into my credit card bill – instead of refunding money on my credit card, they actually charged me again for the entire original order from last June! Now I will have to call them again and try to straighten this out. Not a good company. On November 30th, 2013, rmoote changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

Today before I ever got around to calling them I got a phone message from them saying they had refunded the erroneous charge and to call them back to get the refund for the June order. So apparently someone is monitoring these posts and taking action based on them, which is impressive.
Company representative comment on November 30, 2013:
On Nov 30, 2013 10:30 AM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Hi this is Richo, owner of company. All I know at this point is customer was sent plants in fine condition and apparently was unable to keep them alive. When I heard about it, I suggested that we refund her for plants that did not make it. It takes at least three days for refunds to show on the statement. I do not think that we “charged her again” for the plants. However, for sure, we’ll look into it and make certain that this was a refund. We don’t want to cheat anybody. Dave’s garden is not a good venue for working out customer complaints–you can just call us with your concerns (but not on thanksgiving). Our phones are answered 9-5 m-f pacific time at (541) 846-6704.
On Nov 30, 2013 12:04 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC added:

I tried to approach this new resource (new to me) without any preconceptions of whens and hows. I’ve already read about their workflow, and yeah, I can imagine that kind of business getting, well, busy. But when they got to shipping my order out, it arrived within 2 days. All seeds neatly packed, quantity errs on the “extra” side for the most part. Instructions to germination and planting are right there on little packets, and more information is on the website. If still in doubt about any plant, use Google.

Now I’m gonna face the issue of where to plant all these babies. I mean, I can deal with 20 seeds of some, but 100, 500. That’ll keep me busy. I’m also very happy that I found a resource that puts name on all those plants that I’ve observed every day in the village but never knew what they were called.

Definitely will shop more, and before recommending HH to anyone, I’ll make sure to inform them about the way things are done so that people won’t be expecting the sun, and the moon, and the whole stars ensemble “right here” and “right now”. No one likes constant nagging, and communication is best when you ask the right questions. On June 3rd, 2013, AenRiv added the following:

I’m quite impressed with how Russian comfrey took off growing – literally on the next morning after potting it, there were leaves sticking out. A few days later I was afraid for its health and transplanted into ground – sure enough, it was ALMOST root bound by that time. What a lovely monster!

Shungiku (chrysanthemums) have their first set of adult leaves. The seedlings are looking pretty healthy.

Burdock “Gobo” seeds were probably the first of all seeds to have sprouted. They have slowed down for now. I gave ashitaba seeds a little cold stratification, now they are in the soil. We’ll see what they do. BTW, I tried sushi with gobo – the taste is just. very very pleasant. It’s gonna be a while till mine grow to be ready for consumption 😀

All in all, I’m excited even more now! On June 14th, 2013, AenRiv added the following:

Amazingly, even after shorter-than-30-days stratification, there’s a first Ashitaba sprout in the pot. And the “cranky germinator” which is Arhat fruit/vine, is on it’s way. I’ve seen the first sprout lifting it’s head in its own little pot. Seeded 5/11, sprouted 6/14 in a shady but warm spot, kept moist at all times. Watching them sprout is really watching a miracle happening. Now I gotta keep the bugs away. Company representative comment on May 9, 2013:
On May 9, 2013 9:02 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

But to me, gardener and clinical herbalist, what matters is this : their seeds are fresh, look nicer and better than any other seeds I bought in the past. They give rise to beautiful, healthy plants.

I have bought medicinal plant seeds from all the main suppliers in the US. I don’t anymore. I just buy from Horizon. They have all my trust. Company representative comment on May 28, 2013:
On May 28, 2013 7:34 PM, Horizon Herbs, LLC responded with:

Horizon Herbs, LLC has 179 reviews (18 negative, 157 positive and 4 neutral) at the Garden Watchdog.