Posted on

dollar seed review

Comments regarding DollarSeed (Dollar Seed)

You are viewing only positive comments

Comments:

This was my first time ordering but I’ll definitely be ordering again! I got 45 different varieties of seeds, some of which I’d been wanting to buy for a few years and some of which I’d never heard of! I live in an apartment and gardening is super important for me when it comes to staying positive and happy which is why it was extra nice that a complimentary packet of seeds was included! Some of the seeds have already germinated (which is a lot quicker than other companies I’ve gotten seeds from). I was super happy with my experience and can’t wait to order more seeds in a few months! On Jul 23, 2019, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) responded with:

On Jul 24, 2019 5:11 AM, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) responded with:

I love ordering from Dollar Seed! I’ve made 3 orders that have all been shipped quickly and were packaged in well labelled Ziploc bags. The germination rate is always great, I got 100% for most seeds. Always a reasonable price for a very generous amount of seeds.

Posted on January 2, 2018, updated January 6, 2018
Website enabled quick, efficient searching and ordering. I was notified by email when my order was filled and shipped, and it arrived quickly. I am pleased with this experience. Especially with the generosity of number of seeds in the package for just $1. Wonderful.

One thing I should note for the vendor; there is an inkstamp on the invoice with a url on it; that ‘tinyurl’ address no longer works/ doesn’t go to where it should.

Thanks for a good experience! If I remember, I will try to return here to update with how germination went. 🙂 On January 6th, 2018, Laura20 added the following:

I don’t have a lot of money to spend on seeds, and here in FL, our growing seasons are reversed from the rest of the country. By the time I got around to looking for seeds, they were gone out of the dollar stores and even the big box stores. I was looking online for “cheap seeds” and found Dollar Seed, who just happened to be having a half-price sale. I ordered as much as I could afford, which wasn’t much, trust me. I think I spent less than $6 total with postage. The seeds arrived very quickly, which in my city is a miracle as we don’t have the best postal service here. The seeds were so perfectly clean and well-packaged that not one was damaged in shipping, plus the amounts of each seed were very generous. I had just bought a package of Burpee seeds for more than twice the price and only got 5 seeds in the pack (none of which sprouted), so the generous portions were much appreciated. I over-planted the seeds, expecting a low germination rate but BOY! Was I ever wrong! Almost every seed germinated and I was giving away plants like crazy, to the joy of my gardening friends.

I’ve since moved, and I wanted some new varieties for my new garden. I went onto the site one night and AGAIN there was a sale! Like $1 a pack isn’t cheap enough! I found their Tomato Sampler pack, and wonder if wonders, it had Cherokee Purple in it! I had wanted some of these, but all the places I found them were so expensive and postage was so high. I don’t need but a couple of plants for my tiny garden, so the 10-seed sampler pack was more than sufficient. I’ll also be able to try the Mortgage Lifter and Great White, two more I had wanted to try. Since that was on sale too, I got 10 varieties with 10 seeds each for less than $2! Again, I spent less than $10 total with postage and I was sent a bonus pack of Marketmore cucumbers with almost 300 seeds in it! My friends again are ecstatic about all that I have to share, and are vowing they will be buying from Dollar Seed from now on.

Posted on April 24, 2015, updated April 24, 2015
Placing my order was easy, I received confirmation of my order, and received seeds within a week.

The prices and amount of seeds are great! They came packaged in plastic zippered bags, which makes it nice to reseal and keep moisture away from seeds. The germination rate is posted on the labels, which is a plus to know.

I do hope great success for this online store, and hope they can increase the selection of seeds available to purchase.

The biggest find was 50 comfrey seeds for $1! Unbeatable.
=) On April 24th, 2015, judyinmound added the following:

Posted on April 18, 2015, updated April 18, 2015
I have to say, at first I was a bit worried because when I checked if my order had shipped on there web site the status never changed from processing to shipped. Reading the reviews before hand I knew it was a small business so I was patient.

That being said. dollorseed.com came through. My order arrived six days later! I was excited because of the positive feedback the company received. The seeds came packaged in nice zip lock bags and they looked fresh and healthy. I made a raised garden bed about three week prior and it was ready for planting as it was the second week of April and this is my first vegetable garden I thought I may have missed peak planting time. I planted the seeds the evening I received them.

It’s six days after planting and. I have lettuce sprouts popping out already. I have to tell you I have no clue how to plant vegetables, and like I said this is my first garden but so far, with these beautiful seeds I’m very excited to see how the rest of the veggies I planted do.

All in all, if you are a first time gardener buy your seeds from dollorseed.com and make your first experience a good one like I’m having so far.

Thank You, dollorseed.com! On April 18th, 2015, tpombo1 added the following:

I spelled there name wrong. Sorry!

After two years of a garden that got blight I knew it was time to get away from burpee. My tomatoes would get nice and big and almost over night be dead from blight. I knew that I had to change something. So I looked for a more local distribution of seeds that I knew could grow in Western New York.

So I started the seeds in March and by may it was planting time. What we got for seeds was more in each bag then we thought we’d get. The germination rates for the seed was stellar.

By June our plants were doing great, tomatoes getting big, corn almost knee high already and cucumbers growing like weeds! Well June 23rd I was on my motorcycle going to work at 4 45am and I hit a deer. I was found in the middle of the road, severe head trauma and really screwed up. Yes I was wearing a helmet and it kinda did it’s job. When the medics showed up they immediately called for a helo because I need to get to an icu. Both local helos were busy so they had to wait 20 minutes for the next one to get there. Needles to say I spent 11 days in a coma and 30 days overall at the hospital. Broke my shoulder blades and the bone behind your ear connected to the skull.

How does this tie in? My girlfriend worked 13 hour shifts at another hospital and then drove a half hour to go see me and then half hour home. So nobody was home to take care of the garden. Not weed it or anything. When I came home on July 23rd I was amazed by our garden. Picking cucumbers was semi hard for me but I picked over 100 cucumbers by the end of August. Corn was ready by the end of August and we had pumpkins in September. Peas and beans were done quick and given to the chicken when they were checked on one day. We had well over 300 tomatoes grow. Made the best salsa and spaghetti sauce I’ve ever had.

So, I searched all of the places I usually buy seed from locally for the brand of seeds that I have purchased for about a decade now. None of them seem to be carrying them this year! In any case, I refuse to purchase Burpee seeds, which is what is polluting the seed racks in every strore I went to! In nearly 20 years of gardening, Burpee seeds have never performed very well for me, and I don’t want to pay $1-$3.50 for 10 or 15 seeds either, especially when my garden is massive!

Anyway, I found DollarSeed on Dave’s Garden and the reviews were very good. So, I placed a fair sized order for about 20 varieties of seed and one of the vegetable garden collections. I have to say that I am quite impressed with the seeds, all seem very firm and of excellent quality. I have expereince in seed saving and have been poking seeds in the ground all my life and I honestly expect that germination rates for this seed will be excellent (or very close to it).

Most packets and varieties have a pretty good seed count, though not the peas and beans, next time I order, I will be looking for a jumbo packet of peas and beans as I plant two 20 foot double rows of each, but for this year it is fine as I harvested about a pound each in seeds last year from bumper crops I didn’t get to in time (so I let the seeds mature instead).

All and all, I think I have found a new seed supplier, one that isn’t stingy with seeds, and by the reviews here, isn’t likely to “disappear” either. The shipping was very fast (less than 3 days) and reasonably priced as well at $5. On Mar 14, 2012, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) responded with:

On Apr 11, 2012 12:19 PM, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) responded with:

Read about the company in a blog – thought I would try a few seeds – They arrived quickly 5 days including half a weekend. Great prices & I cannot wait to put them into dirt – Dave sent bonus seeds and a sample of fertilizer. Thank you 🙂 On Feb 23, 2012, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) responded with:

On Apr 11, 2012 12:26 PM, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) responded with:

Nice selection of seeds, easy ordering/checkout experience, super fast shipping, free seeds, great company to order from!

Comments regarding DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) You are viewing only positive comments Comments: This was my first time ordering but I’ll definitely be ordering again! I got 45 different

The scoop on ‘DollarSeed (Dollar Seed)’

Company Profile
DollarSeed (Dollar Seed)

DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) has 98 products listed in PlantScout.

DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) is a Watchdog 30 company.

Mailing Address:
PO Box 504
Cortland, New York 13045 (United States)

Comments:

Rating Author Content
Positive PLHDan
Mogadore, OH
(1 review)
March 29, 2021
Bought seeds for 2021 and have started planting inside.
All the seeds I have started have germinated.
Ordered some more seeds and received ‘a gift’ for my 2nd purchase
which is a nice touch.
Happy that I have bought from DollarSeed.
Good price, fast shipping, and quality seeds.
Positive BuddhaRND
Pueblo, CO
(1 review)
March 23, 2021
First time ordering, great experience. Seeds came in today and everything looks fine, plus I got a free gift which was a nice touch. Everything is labeled and ready to go. I’m just waiting for the weather to make up it’s mind but I will be starting most everyone indoors this week.

They have a nice selection, not as large as I’d like, but what’s there is most certainly enough. I would like to see a larger herb selection if anything. Most of all I love the prices, it’s rather hard to find heirloom seeds at a decent price and I will be back again next year if not a few more times this year.

Updating to add that we did not have any unusual issues with germination rates and have since ordered from them again with a positive experience. On January 9th, 2021, NarrowWayFarm added the following:

I kindly emailed him to ask about the specified cultivar of Clarkia that is directly stated on the website. The picture of his Clarkia does not match what the cultivar “Mountain Garland” Clarkia should look like. He quickly shot back a passive aggressive response stating he isn’t sure what “misled me to believe” that his Clarika was “Mountain Garland”, and that I was mistaken. The way he articulated his email was like an angry arrogant child. I kindly informed him it was directly listed in the listing for his Clarkia seeds on the website, and even shot him over a screenshot from his own website. I then got a rambling passive aggressive response stating that I somehow didn’t understand the process of cross-pollination and that this some how had something to do with why he was denying that his variety stated on the website was “Mountain Garland”. Excuse me, what? This has nothing to do with misrepresenting a variety and then denying that you even have “Mountain Garland” listed on your website. He said he merely copy and pastes descriptions. Oh, I see. So he really has no idea what he’s doing, then. Nor does he know much about the plants he’s actually re-selling from other more dedicated companies who are actually PASSIONATE about the seeds/plants they cultivate and grow.

It either is or isn’t that variety. I didn’t need a childish response like this. It was a simple question. His response was incredibly immature.

It doesn’t end there. Next, When I asked a simple question of how he acquires his seeds (from where), and kindly asked if he grows or collects his own seeds; he again, responded like a child, rambling on and on about how he couldn’t POSSIBLY have the time to manage packing seeds and actually growing his own plants. Seriously?

Wow, excuse me for being curious as to if the owner of the company actually grows and collects their own seeds. You know, many seed companies do, so it shouldn’t be so shocking that a customer would inquire about the source of their seeds.

I don’t think I want to purchase from this company ever again. David seems like an over grown man-child sitting on a high chair who probably rather hang out on a computer all day as an internet addict re-selling some one else’s seeds rather than get his hands dirty in the soil and spend more time learning about the actual seeds he’s selling.

I prefer to purchase seeds from some one who actually speaks/writes like an adult and whom is actually experienced in gardening. That said, glad every one else was happy with their seeds. Personally, I have to believe in the company and know they are passionate/experienced in gardening. Seeds from an online troll is not what I had in mind.. On July 12th, 2020, LightofLilies added the following:

I also noticed something –

These comments are very likely fake (at least a big chunk of them), and most are likely written by David himself. Critical thinking skills here: FIVE positive reviews posted about his company on THE SAME DAY? That is actually unheard of and doesn’t happen on Dave’s garden. Not many people take the time to review a company on Dave’s. Not even Baker Creek Seeds in Missouri, which is one of the largest seed companies in the world, gets 5 separate reviews in a SINGLE day on Dave’s Garden.

You’re a maniac, Dave. Don’t pretend all of these reviews are genuine. Its obvious many of these were written by you. On July 13th, 2020, LightofLilies added the following:

Sure, David, Sure.

No, I’m not a “Disgruntled” gardener. I have never had this experience with a seed company and I have been gardening for decades – not once have I had such an unprofessional reply to my emails and childish refutes. You said you copy and paste all your descriptions. To outright deny that you had “Mountain garland” listed on your Clarkia description, then not even apologize for having not noticed once I proved it to you, is sad. You were determined that no where on the website had you stated it was Mountain Garland, and that I was “misled” in thinking so. I kindly sent you a screenshot. Instead of being Rude and going on a rant, you could have said “Wow, I didn’t notice that it said Mountain Garland, it looks like it indeed does say that. I apologize for telling you that you were mislead”.. You denied having even used that in the description and wouldn’t even admit you were wrong. I didn’t need a long rant about how cross-pollination works.

You probably didn’t even take the photo of the Clarkia on your website. Would you like to deny that too? A simple image address search showed me you took it from here -> [ [email protected] ]
You used the image from paseseeds, it appears. And according to that stock image it isn’t even Mountain Garland. Its listed as Lilac Pixie Clarkia. Check mate.

It is not a sin for some one to NOT read your long, run on sentence rant on your website about how you’ve “Changed the industry”, and so on. Most of your self-worship talk is smoke and mirrors.

Glad you can fool most people, but you can’t fool me. If I were you, I would brush up on your customer service skills and learn how to speak with grace and kindness over coy/chop self-aggrandizing replies. On July 14th, 2020, LightofLilies added the following:

Nice deflect. Company representative comment on July 14, 2020:
On Jul 13, 2020 11:56 AM, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) responded with:

Wow, was that awful harsh. Did you know that I can\\\’t post my own reviews, as I am the owner of this company? These are real reviews. The reason for the high number, which include the actual order numbers, was because we were running a contest at the time.
Back to the main subject, which I did explain in the email I sent to you. We purchase our seeds in large bulk quantities from major seed houses throughout the US and repackage them manually under our own brand. Our site even tells this in our about us section.
All of our flower seeds come from one source, and that source is the one that provides us with the needed description of each variety we carry. They also provide us with the pictures that represent their products.
As for me not getting my hands dirty? Wow, is that so far from the truth. Before we even started this business, I ran market gardens. Our little stand was representative of 32 large raised beds that we grew almost 100 different vegetables from. Those vegetables were sold at harvest, garden to table. Much like you would find at a Farmer\\\’s Market.
You are welcome to go look us up at \\\”The Human Flower Project\\\” where we started by giving away over 10,000 free packages of hand harvested and Marigold seeds, prior to kicking off our opening in 2010.
And yes, cross pollination can cause a variety to not grow true to form.
We know we can\\\’t please everybody all of the time, but just this year alone, we have pleased 10\\\’s of thousands of gardeners, and have no intention of stopping anytime soon. Thank you for your opinionated review. Not everyone will read it. Hopefully many that do will understand you are just a disgruntled gardener. On Jul 13, 2020 3:42 PM, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) added:

PaseSeeds, another NY company that purchases their seeds from many of our same suppliers. You\’re talking about a company that sells 25 pepper seeds from $9.95 on up? Go ahead and play with them if you wish. We did not use their photo, nor would we ever use a non-supplier photo for any of our seeds. We sell twice that amount for just a Dollar. Comparing apples to oranges makes you the fool.
This is not the place or platform to run your rant. That is what Facebook is for. Please stop! On Jul 14, 2020 8:07 PM, DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) added:

Order # 8248 On May 9th, 2020, Sprvixn added the following:

DollarSeed (Dollar Seed) has 90 reviews (1 negative, 86 positive and 3 neutral) at the Garden Watchdog.